The 5 Shaolin Animal Forms

 

In the 1600s, a Shaolin Master, Bai Yu Feng, decided to revitalize the Shaolin system. He traveled across China for three years, meeting Masters and learning a variety of styles. Upon returning from his Quest, he built a new style at Shaolin Temple by combining the 5 systems he encountered on his travels. This new system was the Fist of the 5 Shaolin Animals (Shaolin Wu Xing Quan).

 

Close your fist now. How many shapes (fingers) do you have in your fist? 5 shapes gathered together to form a whole, an alliance, right?  

 

The Fist of the 5 Shaolin Animals
 

This system contains the 5 animals that we study (on another level) in our own system: The Tiger, the Crane, the Serpent, the Leopard and the Dragon. Each of these styles existed in their traditional forms. Bai Yu Feng only did a job of synthesis by combining them in a single style where each animal complements the other. It is important to understand that there is no one form stronger than another. There should be no competition between the different shapes. On the contrary, a close collaboration must exist between each of the forms and that is why the weaknesses of one form are compensated by the strength of another. I like to talk about an Alliance between the 5 Shaolin forms.

 

The 5 shapes are models that we can imitate

 

What are animal styles, according to Jason Parks *? “Animal styles are more correctly described as imitative styles (Xing Quan) and are a unique feature of classical Chinese martial arts. The Masters developed these styles as a way to explore the nature of human consciousness by exploring the different “spirits” that the animal represents. The animal is an archetype that the practitioner can explore to understand this “ability to change” that the human mind possesses. The reason for imitation is to break free from our everyday identity and thereby explore ways of thinking that we would not normally have considered. It helps create a paradigm shift and increases our understanding while pushing back our borders as a result. * "

 

  * Sifu Jason Park is a Master in 4 different styles of Shaolin Gong Fu. He is the founder of Mountain Gate Academy (MGA) and the developer of Restorative Learning®. Jason has been teaching and practicing martial arts for the past twenty years. (www.mountaingateacademy.com)

Les 5 Formes Animales Shaolin

 

Dans les années 1600, un Maître Shaolin, Bai Yu Feng, décida de revitaliser le système Shaolin. Il a voyagé à travers la Chine pendant trois ans, rencontrant des Maîtres et apprenant une variété de styles. Au retour de sa Quête, il construisit un nouveau style au Temple Shaolin en combinant les 5 systèmes qu’il a rencontrés lors de ses voyages. Ce nouveau système était le Poing des 5 animaux Shaolin (Shaolin Wu Xing Quan).

 

Fermez votre poing, maintenant. Combien avez-vous de formes (doigts) dans votre poing? 5 formes réunies ensemble pour former un ensemble, une alliance, n'est-ce pas? 

 

Le Poing des 5 animaux Shaolin
 

Ce système contient les 5 animaux que nous étudions (à un autre niveau) dans notre propre système : Le Tigre, la Grue, le Serpent, le Léopard et le Dragon. Chacun de ces styles existait dans leurs formes traditionnelles. Bai Yu Feng n’a fait qu’un travail de synthèse en les combinant dans un seul style où chaque animal complémente l’autre. Il est important de comprendre qu’il n’existe pas une forme plus forte qu’une autre. Il ne doit pas y avoir de compétition entre les différentes formes. Au contraire, une étroite collaboration doit exister entre chacune des formes et c’est pourquoi les faiblesses d’une forme sont compensées par la force d’une autre. J’aime parler d’une Alliance entre les 5 formes Shaolin.

 

Les 5 formes sont des modèles que nous pouvons imiter

 

Qu’est-ce que les styles animaux, selon Jason Parks*? « Les styles des animaux sont plus correctement décrits comme les styles imitatifs ( Xing Quan) et sont une caractéristique unique des arts martiaux classiques chinois. Les Maîtres ont développé ces styles comme une façon d’explorer la nature de la conscience humaine par l’exploration des différents “esprits” que l’animal représente. L’animal est un archétype que le pratiquant peut explorer pour comprendre cette “habileté à changer” que l’esprit humain possède. La raison de l’imitation est de se libérer de notre identité de tous les jours et, ainsi, explorer des manières de penser que nous n’aurions pas considérées normalement. Cela aide à créer un changement de paradigme et accroît notre compréhension tout en reculant nos frontières en conséquence. * »

 

 *Sifu Jason Park est un Maitre dans 4 différents styles de Shaolin Gong Fu. Il est le fondateur de Mountain Gate Academy (MGA) et le développeur de Restorative Learning®. Jason enseigne et pratique les arts martiaux depuis les vingt dernières années. (www.mountaingateacademy.com)